The Red Threads That Tie Us…

Grab a thread and tug.

The New Job

I have settled into my job, finished shadowing other case managers, and finally started setting up my own meetings with clients. This means that currently, I really don’t have a lot to do. This will change, and rapidly, once I start getting more meetings and the paperwork starts to pile up. So I should probably treasure this. But currently I’m getting paid to read Google news and I just can’t feel great about that. I even brought a book to work today.

I know, I know, I should revel in this brief moment, but I can’t help myself. I was raised by people who really believed in work ethic and as such, if someone is paying me to do something, I feel super guilty when I’m not doing that specific thing. Even if there isn’t anything else for me to BUT read the news and twiddle my thumbs.

But I am seriously enjoying this job. Probably more than I should. Shaba asked for more details on my soap opera clients and while I can’t tell quite a few wonderful tails due to that pesky confidentiality thing, I can say… Wow. Just, wow. You would have no idea what a subculture there is for the mentally ill. Seriously, it’s a subculture. Romantic relationships run like wildfire through the groups of these people and there are more fights than Melrose Place. Thankfully, most of them are verbal, but some aren’t. Police get called, restraining orders are filed, and god, there is one who just likes to stir the pot to see what trouble can be found and what life can be seriously messed with. It’s crazy!

But, I have to admit, the juicy details aren’t my favorite part of the job here. I’m a total sap, but I wouldn’t be me if this wasn’t true. My favorite part is hearing the success stories, reading case files and seeing the leaps and bounds people have made. I can’t wait to help clients achieve that. It’s what’s going to keep me going when someone has to go back to the hospital or I have to go bail someone out of jail.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

