The Red Threads That Tie Us…

Grab a thread and tug.

Doom, Snow, and Santa

So apparently I doomed myself when I put up the “My life is awesome” post. My week old pleco died, work sucked, work sucked, felt like I wasn’t doing enough at home, blah, blah, blah. Oh, and my friend’s pit bull was shot and had to be put down. I’m so furious about it. In an attempt not to piss off the Fates again I’ll just tell you that my Thanksgiving was wonderful and Russia did pretty damn well for puppy surrounded by new things, new people, and FOOD!

This weekend Russia got to know the delight that is snow. Again, he proved that he’s definitely a member of the family because he loved it as much as the Boyfriend and I do. He also got his photo with Santa because I am obviously that crazy lady. It was also for a good cause!! All the proceeds went to the local Humane Society.

Unfortunately, while we were there, Russia got his nose ripped open by another dog. I’m having trouble being too upset at the dog because she was obviously terrified by all the activity, Russia thinks growling is apparently a come on, and she pooped on Santa. Yeah, you read that right. Thankfully, it was all cleaned up by the time we got there.

I hadn’t even realized Russia had been hurt, he acted fine! I saw some blood on the floor and even said “Oh, some dog is hurt, poor baby. I’m glad it’s not Russia!” Then the lady next to me pointed out his ripped up nose. It was swiftly taken care of with lots of kisses from me and the surrounding people, and the staff at the pet store got right on the blood and put some numbing powder on him. All better! He even tried to approach the dog who did it later. Flat learning curve there…

In non-doggie news, I can NOT believe how fast Christmas is sneaking up on me. I only have one present bought, dammit! I have one Christmas tree scented candle and candles for the windows. That’s it besides this cute sleigh decoration the Boyfriend’s mom got us. And my stuff was all bought yesterday. I’m sort of failing at this. But! Lights will be up and there will be jolliness around my house even if I have to kill someone. I doubt it will come to that.

What do you guys have up to make your holiday pretty and bright? Or are you in the same boat I am?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Doom, Snow, and Santa

  1. Xandra on said:

    Sorry you’ve been having a rough time… though the part about Russia pooping on Santa made me LOL.

    We just bought some lights for our little porch and received some Xmas scented candles from an order we made a month ago… a spiced eggnog and a frankincense and myrrh! They are delicious. Been drinking hot chocolate after dinner and playing traditional Christmas music in the evenings. 🙂

    Can’t wait to see you when we’re both home!! ❤

  2. AlexMac on said:

    Oh no, it wasn’t Russia who pooped on Santa. It was the dog who ripped open his nose, therefore totally deserves the coal that pooping will get her.

    Those candles sound amazing, especially the frankincense and myrrh. If we don’t get to see each other, I will be seriously sad. However, I’m not going to be down for long. 😦

Leave a Reply

