The Red Threads That Tie Us…

Grab a thread and tug.

Spring Fever While Hoping for Snow

I did a little link clearing and link adding. Basically, if the link was never updated and not one of my close friends, it went away. Just my version of spring cleaning on the blog. Because… you know… I update every day… and I’m totally not jealous of the DC area and their THREE FEET OF SNOW.

How is it that I’m in Northern New Hampshire (or at least in the damn mountains, The Boyfriend gets all geographical when I say we’re northern) and I’m looking at patches of bare ground and frigging Virginia and Georgia are getting snow? Totally not fair.

In non-weather related news, Russia is hopefully graduating from his first obedience course tonight. I say hopefully not because he’s bad at the commands. On the contrary, I’m pretty sure this dog would learn to drive a car if he knew it would get him food. He’s one of the smartest, if not THE smartest dogs in the class. And that’s not just me being a proud mama, he’s frighteningly smart and stubborn.

However, to get a good number of the points needed to pass the class, you have to teach your dog an extra trick from the list outside of class, such as play dead and some other choices. We lost the paper, so that’s the only one we remember. Now, I mentioned once or twice in the beginning that we needed to teach Russia a special trick. “Oh, it’ll be no big deal.” Fast forward to week six, where we’ve lost the paper with the trick list, Russia doesn’t randomly fall over, so it’s hard to teach him to be dead, and I’m panicking.

It’s all our fault too. For the first two days of “Oh my god, we have to teach this dog!!” we were lazy and I didn’t force the issue. Then the next night I had a migraine that made me contemplate how sweet death really would be. I actually went to bed early.  I didn’t even read!! That says something. Last night? I was really going to try, but during the day, Russia didn’t take well to me trying to force him to roll over and then The Boyfriend did something extremely painful to himself, and frankly, no one was concentrating on dog tricks after that.

Don’t worry, everyone is alive.

*sighs* I really hope we’re not the only losers who failed to teach an extra trick to our dog. Maybe we’ll get lucky and Russia will instantly learn high five?

I’m going to go attempt to pick a new blog design to distract myself.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Spring Fever While Hoping for Snow

  1. Ooooooo, new blog designs… MY FAVORITE.

  2. AlexMac on said:

    I know, aren’t they fun?

Leave a Reply

