The Red Threads That Tie Us…

Grab a thread and tug.

Respect Mah Authoritah!

Does anyone else make up ridiculous songs while you’re in the bathroom? No? Just me? Dammit.

Well, Russia graduated Pet Dog 101. YAAAAAAY!!! He’s also the only dog who really played with his graduation Frisbee. He did great, despite having waaay too much energy from spending the last few days in his crate. The Boyfriend hasn’t been able to take him to work and I’ve only been able to sneak home during my lunch hour. He’s enrolled into Pet Dog 102 and we’re just so proud! *sniffle*

This would be a great segue into my latest dog obsession, but unless you actually want to hear me ramble about it, I won’t bore you with it.

Instead I’ll ramble about something totally different.

I have had very little tolerance for sass in the past week or so. At first I thought it was just me being PMSy (that’s my contribution to TMI Thursday, ps) but it has continued on past that. And it’s not me being bitchy, just me being far more likely to shoot someone down for being elitist or completely and wrongly entitled. Which isn’t great, because a good number of my clients feel very entitled. “You need to go to the hospital and get MY pain pills and then drive up and give them to me and then drive me down to Cumby’s so I can get a drink.” Orrrr, you could suck on my left big toe, whatever. (Yeah, somebody actually said that to me. Not even my own client! Needless to say, I did not go get her pain pills.)

Honestly, I think as long as I watch my tone of voice and keep things cheerful and polite while I crush their hopes and dreams, this new attitude might be helpful for them. Far too many of them don’t hear “no” from the mental health workers, and frankly it’s my job to help them live as normal a life as possible. And normal includes being told no and demanding basic respect.

So who thinks I’m going to get fired?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Respect Mah Authoritah!

  1. Xandra on said:

    I love the title of this post.

Leave a Reply

