The Red Threads That Tie Us…

Grab a thread and tug.

Dress Up

This is me. Every time.

See that comic? That’s me every time I see a pretty dress. “Oh my goodness, this dress will change EVERYTHING and I will be BEAUTIFUL!” Then…. I look in the mirror. Dammit.

I’m also the ad exec’s favorite customer. I’m way too gullible. “That lady’s hair is GLORIOUS*! Obviously if I use that shampoo, I too will have glorious hair!”

I bring this up because I am once again forced into dress shopping. I say forced because while I enjoy looking and feeling pretty, dress shopping kind of does the opposite for me. I’m a difficult fit. Pear is not a dressmaker’s favorite design apparently. But, I love my Shaba (and I might actually find a pretty dress!!) so I’m doing my bridesmaid duty and hunting the perfect dress.

And I want this one:

So lovely.

But… mostly I want it because I want to look as poised and elegant as the model. Not gonna happen, I’m thinking.

Oh, and I also need a dress for my sister’s black tie dinner that she’s the executive chef of. No pressure there. So two dresses. And shoes. Yaaay! But craaap. Any good dress shops you guys can suggest?

*Yes, I do occasionally talk in capitals like that. Ask anyone who has been near me for more than a half hour.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Dress Up

  1. superalzy on said:

    Ugh. I know the feeling. Just this weekend I tried on a dress that I was SURE would change me into my best version of myself, but alas, it was a size too small & the last one in stock.

    I’m trying to change my perception from “This will make me look awesome” to “I will make that dress look amazing!” because really, without YOU that dress lies flat on a hanger.

    • AlexMac on said:

      I hate when the “perfect” dress is the wrong size and only one left. I recently had that happen with shoes but then wonder of wonder, they went on sale and the only one left was my size!! Maybe you’ll have a similar experience.

      That’s a good idea to boost my confidence when I’m trying on dress after dress without success. Thanks!

  2. Heheh, i do that too!
    Which is why I often just look at myself from the neck down in dressing rooms and sometimes it helps.

    And i think you’re the prettiest flower.
    😀

    • AlexMac on said:

      Hmmm, neck down… I will attempt this. And you are the prettiest flower! Together, we make the world’s best bouquet.

  3. manholemermaid on said:

    Confidence is everything, darling!

Leave a Reply

