The Red Threads That Tie Us…

Grab a thread and tug.

Blockage

I need a haircut. This could be a beautiful metaphor about my life and where I need to take it (snipping off the dead ends and the like) but I’m too lazy to really work it through right now. Also, I legitimately need a hair cut. As in, I rock short hair and haven’t seen Stephanie of the Shears (official title I just gave my hairdresser) since mid-November. Luckily, she’s awesome so my hair is growing out in a fabulous fashion, but…

It’s time.

So what’s the big deal? Just call The Shears and get it done, right? Wrong. I’ve discussed this before, but I am awful at making appointments for anything personal, important, or having to do with changing things. I’m not sure what this mental block is, but it is borderline retarded. It seriously annoys, but since my mind is controlled by a pissy 14 year old girl, I just kind of get in a cat-fight with myself and nothing changes.

It’s not like I’m scared she’s going to do something terrible to my hair… hair is hair to me. It grows. Try something fun and different and if it sucks, give it a week and try something else. Or… keep the same haircut that has worked for roughly the past three years. I hope I try something fun and different, but my hair is incredibly fine and difficult to work with.

It’s not that I’m worried she’s going to ask how Joe and I are doing and I’ll have to awkwardly explain the breakup. He’s already gotten a haircut, I’m sure, and filled her in. So she’ll ask how I’m doing, eyes wary for tears, and I can wave a hand dismissively and smile, telling her how much fun I’m having.

Ugh. So I just have to stop being a jerk and go. Be okay with changes. JUST MAKE THE DAMN PHONE CALL, YA PANSY.

I have the same problem with picking things to decorate the apartment with. Mental block! Can’t choose! Let’s make this go away, shall we?

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Blockage

  1. Make an appointment!
    Wear cute clothes!
    You’ll be fine.
    I’m with you on the decor issue. I have the whole rest of my house to decorate and I’m currently obsessed with updating the master bedroom. That we just finished.
    Sigh.

  2. AlexMac on said:

    I totally meant to call her today. I nearly stopped writing the post to call her because I knew what would happen if I didn’t. I was right… I got caught up and now I don’t want to leave a message.

    I’ll call tomorrow and hopefully have new hair within a few days. And yes, a cute outfit is very necessary.

    I put something on my bedroom wall. And we hung something in the kitchen. WE’RE NEARLY FUNCTIONING ADULTS! Now… everything else. Crap.

Leave a Reply

