The Red Threads That Tie Us…

Grab a thread and tug.

“I have a feeling.” Yeah, that you’re about to be slapped with a restraining order.

I’ve been doing a little internet dating. Rather, I put a profile on a few sites and others have been doing a little stalking. Originally it was just fun to see who was out there, in fact my friend started it by making me a profile as a joke. At this point? I barely even check the sites.

Don’t get me wrong, it has been an AWESOME boost to my self confidence. I don’t think I’ve ever had so many people complimenting me and trying to get my attention. However… apparently the vast majority of guys are on these sites because no one ever taught them how to talk to women. “Heo[sic] cutie, how you feel about casual sex?” Uhhhh, I think you’re 19, 90 miles away, and EWWWWWWW. “Hey, liked ur pics and u don’t seem totally batshit crazy.” Oh, you could tell that from my three pictures, one of which is of a giant snake looped over my shoulders? You are clearly an excellent judge of character. “Nice pics, here’s my number. I know I’ll hear from you soon.” No. No you won’t.

I get it, a lot of creeps hang on those website hoping for an easy lay. But even those people who seem to be looking for a relationship have no clue how to really talk to anyone. I had some guy lay it on so thickly I was choking. “You are my beautiful internet crush. I have a feeling we’re meant to be. I know we’ve only started talking, but I really can’t wait to meet you. Can you come tonight? I’ll be a gentleman, I promise.”  That one right there continued to text me for two weeks after I stopped responding. The next guy who managed to get my number sent me 36 picture messages in the span of 12 hours and also went a little bananas. He was 22 and already divorced and it wasn’t hard to see why. Sweet lord, the questions he asked, the audacity… it was funny when it wasn’t harassing.

So I’m going back to what I had planned all along. I’m going to be happy with myself (check), be open to meeting new people, and just have a good time. Hopefully without creeps who can’t take even the most blunt of hints.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on ““I have a feeling.” Yeah, that you’re about to be slapped with a restraining order.

  1. Oh man. Guys are clueless. I was on OkCupid for a minute and yeah… the questions these guys come right out with. It’s amazing they ever see any action. I don’t get offended easily, but somehow, internet dating creeps cut right to the most offensive things they can think of.

    I think your philosophy is the best one. Be happy and be open to new possibilities! Good luck!

    • AlexMac on said:

      Haha, OKCupid was actually where the second winner came from. I’m fairly hard to offend as well, but there are just not okay to bring up immediately.

      I think you and I will find a lot of power and a lot of happiness as we continue to grow and make discoveries. Thanks for being an inspiration of ass kickery. 🙂

  2. Great, love the internet dating stories. I dropped by from alonewithcats. I think you American’s win; much much worse than anything I’ve encountered. One of my hobbies is enjoying the creepy messages I get from random men, who also have very bad grammar, on Facebook. . .wanting to meet me and be my best friend. . .

Leave a Reply

